Become a Supporter
Sports Commission Associates

Sports Commission Associates


Welcome to the home page of the St. Louis Sports Commission Associates – the Sports Commission’s young professionals group.

Created in 2007, the Associates help the Sports Commission fulfill its mission to make the St. Louis region a better place to live, visit, work and play through sports. Associates have the opportunity to volunteer for Sports Commission events, participate in the organization’s activities, and attend business and social meetings hosted by the group.

Associates membership is open to anyone wishing to become involved in the Sports Commission’s efforts. To help fund the group’s activities and to demonstrate a commitment to the Associates, members are asked to pay annual dues of $75. The components of Associates membership include:

  • A direct link to rewarding volunteer opportunities and experiences that make a positive impact on the region through sports.
  • Invitations to sports-themed business meetings and social gatherings held exclusively for members of the Associates.
  • The opportunity to network with other St. Louis young professionals.
  • Access to purchase seats for selected Sports Commission events ahead of the general public.


JOIN the Associates >

RENEW your Associates membership dues >
To download a printable Associates membership form, click here.

Follow the Associates on social media to stay up-to-date on upcoming events and how you can assist with the Sports Commission’s efforts!

Facebook: /groups/STLSportsComAssociates
Twitter: @STLSCAssociates
Instagram: @stlscassociates

Upcoming Meetings & Events


All Associates members will be invited to special sporting and fundraising events throughout the year. Be sure to check your email for invitations from the St. Louis Sports Commission (


Associates Board


Michelle Menze | Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals

Vice Chair
Elizabeth Pack | Greensfelder, Hemker & Gale, P.C.

Nico Toro | Lockton

Kyle Harris | Genetec Inc.


Board Members

Bart Bennett | Express Scripts

Mike Bynum | Bynum Consulting LLC

Mallory Fisk | Summers Compton Wells

Ryan Furtick | Lewis Rice LLC

Kevin Hall | Edwardsville Township

Jeremy Harness | Harness Financial

Jono Hiemenz | Charles Crane Agency

Danielle Ivie | Powered by Movement LLC

Matt James | Drive Social Media

Matt Miller | Bank of America

Lanie Mitchell | Slalom

Ryan Plumley | IRI

Chandler Poppen | Forest Lake Tennis Club

Zach Schaefer | Spark the Discussion

Jamie Skinner | St. Louis SLAM

Jenifer Snow | The Law Offices of Joan M. Swartz.

Evan Sullivan | Armstrong Teasdale

Brian Tucker | Amplified Digital

Katie Zimmerman | Caleres

The Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship

The Carl Fricks Sportsmanship Scholarship is presented annually to graduating high school seniors from the St. Louis metro area who embody outstanding sportsmanship. Administered by the St. Louis Sports Commission Associates – the Sports Commission’s young professionals group – the scholarship recognizes individuals who exemplify honesty, integrity, civility, selflessness, kindness, compassion and class in athletic competition. Candidates are evaluated strictly on their approach, character and respect for others on the playing field. Athletic performance (wins and other stats) does not factor in the selection – making the scholarships unique.

The Associates launched the Sportsmanship Scholarship in 2009. The group raises funds for the program and selects its recipients.  In twelve years, the Associates have awarded $182,500 in academic scholarships to 55 college-bound students. The scholarship program is part of the Sports Commission’s efforts to promote and encourage sportsmanship in the community.

Visit for more information and to view previous scholarship recipients.

Help us celebrate sportsmanship by nominating a deserving student who has demonstrated outstanding sportsmanship and character in athletic competition. The application packets will be available in January. You can also view the bios of past recipients to see the type of attributes and actions the scholarship committee seeks to recognize. For more details, call Solomon Alexander at 314-345-5130 or email

View Previous Recipients >